Democrats hold on to Rep. Murphy's seat in Connecticut

The race was considered a close contest; Roraback is a centrist Republican candidate in a district that leans slightly Democratic.

Esty’s win helps House Democrats maintain their current numbers in Congress.

Murphy defeated Republican Linda McMahon in her second attempt to be elected to the Senate. She lost in 2010 to Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.). Murphy replaces retiring Sen. Joe Lieberman (I-Conn.).

More in Presidential races

Axelrod: Democrats may have 'fling' with Sanders, settle down with Clinton

Read more »