DSCC starts joint fundraising committees for Senate women

Each of the committees the DSCC registered include different participants, although six candidates and the DSCC are included in both committees.

The six benefiting from both are Sens. Amy Klobuchar (Minn.), Maria Cantwell (Wash.), and Kirsten Gillibrand (N.Y.), Hawaii Senate candidate Rep. Mazie Hirono, Wisconsin Senate candidate Rep. Tammy Baldwin and Nevada Senate candidate Rep. Shelley Berkley (Nev.). Of those, Berkley and Baldwin have the toughest races.

The joint fundraising committee designated with the New York address also benefits Sen. Claire McCaskill (Mo.), who is a top GOP target and considered one of the most vulnerable Democrats this cycle, along with North Dakota Senate candidate Heidi Heitkamp. The Washington committee includes Sen. Dianne Feinstein (Calif.), according to disclosure documents.

There are six women incumbents running for reelection in the Senate and five who would be the first female senators in their states, if elected.

Joint fundraising committees are commonly used to help fill the campaign coffers. The money is distributed at the committee's discretion as long as the contributions stay within federal limits.

Adriane Rummel is the treasurer for both committees and is based out of the DSCC’s Washington, D.C., address, according to the FEC filings.

— This story was updated at 12:19 p.m.

More in Fundraising

Top GOP fundraiser: Stop the Republican-on-Republican attacks

Read more »