State Department discouraging travel to areas in Maria's path

The State Department is warning United States citizens against traveling to areas in the path of Hurricane Maria.

“U.S. citizens abroad in the Caribbean should monitor the State Department’s Travel website, and ensure they are enrolled in the Smart Traveller Enrollment Program for updates,” the State Department wrote on its official blog Tuesday.

Islands currently under storm watches and warnings include Turks and Caicos Islands, Guadeloupe, St. Lucia, Antigua and Barbuda, and the British Virgin Islands, the State Department noted.

Foggy Bottom also advised Americans abroad to listen to local authorities for any emergency directions.

Maria, which is currently a Category 5 hurricane, is expected to reach the U.S. Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico on Tuesday night and Wednesday.

Maria comes after Hurricane Irma hit the Caribbean islands earlier this month.