Christopher Hill confirmed, with a few vote changes

The Senate confirmed Christopher Hill tonight to be the new U.S Ambassador to Iraq. The 73-23 had a few changes from the 73-17 cloture motion last night.

Interestingly, three senators voted FOR cloture but AGAINST confirmation: Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.) and Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.)

Six senators who didn't vote last night made it to tonight's roll call: Sen. Mark Begich (D-Alaska), Sen. Joe Lieberman (I-Conn.) and Sen. Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) voted Yes; Sen. Robert Bennett (R-Utah), Sen. Jon Kyl (R-Ariz.) and Sen. John McCain (R-Ariz.) voted Nay.

Full roll call vote here.

More in News

Biden apologizes after administration fails to greet Olympic officials

Read more »