Chrysler appointed eight new members to its board of directors today, rounding out the group that will oversee Chrylser as it tries to move out of bankruptcy.

The eight new members--who will join Chairman Robert Skidder--include:

-Alfredo Altavilla, CEO of Fiat Powertrain Technologies
-James Blanchard, former U.S. Congressman and Governor of Michigan
-George F.J. Gosbee, Chairman, CEO and President of Tristone Capital Inc
-Sergio Marchionne, CEO of Chrysler Group LLC and CEO of Fiat S.p.A
-Douglas Steenland, former CEO of Northwest Airlines
-Scott Stuart, a founding partner of Sageview Capital LLC
-Ronald L. Thompson, Chairman of the Board of Trustees for Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association (TIAA)
-Stephen Wolf, Chairman of R.R. Donnelley & Sons Co.

The Treasury Department released a statement praising the new board.

"With today's announcement of the final appointments to Chrysler's Board of Directors, the nine member board is complete, and Chrysler is positioned to move toward a viable future," the statement reads. "The new board hosts a wide range of experience in global corporate leadership, which we are confident will help drive the innovation, discipline, and adaptability needed for long-term viability."