The House convened at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, and has begun six hours of "debate" on H.Res. 32 on the weekend shooting in Tucson, Ariz., although the debate will be a series of tributes to Rep. Gabrielle Giffords (D-Ariz.) and others involved in the shooting. At this time there are about 25 members in the chamber prepared to speak, including most members of House leadership.

Speaker of the House John Boehner (R-Ohio) took the first slot for debate at about 10:10 a.m. Highlights from Boehner's remarks:

Boehner called the work of Congress "the great cause for which Gabe [Gabriel Matthew Zimmerman] gave his life." Zimmerman was the director of community outreach for Giffords.

"We need to chart a way forward, no matter how painful or difficult it may be," he said.

"Our hearts are broken, but our spirits are not. This is a time for the House to lock arms in prayer for the fallen and wounded and resolve to carry on our democracy. We are Americans. We will make it through this difficult period. We will have the last word. God help this House, God help this Congress, and God bless America."

Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) took the next slot. Pelosi honored Giffords as a "brilliant and courageous member of Congress."

"We look forward to the time when she is present with us again on the floor.

"Let their reactions and their memories be a blessing to our country. I don't know why God saw this necessary, but let this be something we cherish as an opportunity as we mourn the heartbreaking horror of it all."

Other members who have spoken as of 12:00 noon:

Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-Va.)
Minority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-Md.)
Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.)
Democratic Caucus Chairman John Larson (Conn.)
Trent Franks (R-Ariz.)
Ed Pastor (D-Ariz.)
David Schweikert (R-Ariz.)
Dennis Kucinich (D-Ohio)
Ben Quayle (R-Ariz.)
Ways and Means Committee Chairman Sandy Levin (D-Mich.)
Paul Gosar (R-Ariz.)
Dale Kildee (D-Mich.)
Tom Price (R-N.C.)
Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-Texas)
Pete Sessions (R-Texas)
Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.)
John Carter (R-Texas)
Donna Edwards (D-Md.)
Greg Walden (R-Ore.)
Jane Harman (D-Calif.)
Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.)
Del. Madeleine Bordallo (D-Guam)
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-Fla.)
Doris Matsui (D-Calif.)
Brett Guthrie (R-Ky.)
Al Green (D-Texas)
Erik Paulsen (R-Minn.)
Steve Cohen (D-Tenn.)
Michael McCaul (R-Texas)
Joe Crowley (D-N.Y.)
Louie Gohmert (R-Texas)
James Clyburn (D-S.C.)
Leonard Lance (R-N.J.)
Adam Schiff (D-Calif.)
Ted Poe (R-Texas)

—Updated at 12:00 noon.