The House on Wednesday night approved H.R. 42, which names three members to House committees. Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.) was named to the Energy and Commerce Committee, freshman Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-Texas) was added to the Homeland Security Committee, and another freshman, Rep. Jeff Landry (R-La.), was named to the Committee on Small Business.

The House has been approving both Republican and Democratic members to various committees over the last two weeks by resolutions that have been approved by voice vote on the same day they are introduced.

House Republicans yesterday also announced the reappointment of several people to the Governing Board of the Office of Congressional Ethics. The office, staffed with non-members, was created in 2008 to help review possible ethics violations in the House.

Reappointed to the board by Republicans were Porter Goss, James Eagen, Allison Hayward and Bill Frenzel (alternate). Democrats reappointed David Skaggs, Yvonne Burke, Karan English and Abner Mikva.