The House has just approved a resolution instructing four committees to work on alternatives to last year's healthcare law. The measure, H.R. 9, was approved by a 253-175 vote, a wider margin than Wednesday's 245-189 vote to repeal the healthcare law.

Fourteen House Democrats voted for the resolution: Reps. Jason Altmire (Pa.), John Barrow (Ga.), Dan Boren (Okla.), Corrine Brown (Fla.), Ben Chandler (Ky.), Mark Critz (Pa.), Tim Holden (Pa.), Larry Kissell (N.C.), Lipinski (Ill.), Jim Matheson (Utah), Mike McIntyre (N.C.), Collin Peterson (Minn.), Mike Ross (Ark.), and Heath Shuler (N.C.).

The mostly partisan vote came amid Democratic complaints that the resolution is simply an instruction to work on alternatives, and is not an actual healthcare plan. That, coupled with yesterday's repeal vote, has Democrats worried that Republicans were quick to repeal last year's law but will be slow to come up with alternatives.

H.R. 9 was approved with an amendment that also asks committees to come up with a permanent solution to the Medicare physician reimbursement rate (see post immediately below).

Updated at 11:45 a.m.