Wednesday's House vote on the FY 2011 surface transportation spending bill drew just four opponents in the final vote: Reps. Justin Amash (R-Mich.), Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), Jared Polis (D-Colo.) and Cliff Stearns (R-Fla.).

Amash said on his Facebook page that the bill, which authorizes spending at FY 2010 levels, would spend $13 billion more than is currently available in the Highway Trust Fund.

"The American people deserve some serious reforms, not more of the same," Amash said.

Just before the vote, Polis proposed to recommit the bill in order to remove $180 million in spending for two "bridges to nowhere" in Alaska, but that motion was rejected in a mostly party-line vote.