The House returned at 1:15 p.m. Friday and voted 238-174 to begin consideration of a resolution disapproving of the Federal Communications Commission's net-neutrality rules.

Rep. James McGovern (D-Mass.) called for the vote. Earlier in the day he had suggested that the House should not take up the resolution — H.J.Res. 37 — because of the ongoing budget fight.

Only four Democrats voted to consider the resolution: Reps. Dan Boren (Okla.), Collin Peterson (Minn.), Kurt Schrader (Ore.), and Heath Shuler (NC).