The 37 lawmakers who opposed Medicare deal
© Greg Nash

A bipartisan deal to repeal automatic cuts to Medicare payments for doctors sailed through the House on Thursday, with only a small group of lawmakers opposing it.

The House approved legislation that would repeal a formula for Medicare known as the Sustainable Growth Rate (SGR) by a vote of 392-37 — a rare, overwhelming show of bipartisan support for major legislation in the chamber.

Even the "rule," which sets parameters for floor debate, passed with nearly all members in favor; the tally was 402-12, with five members voting present. Rules typically pass along party lines, even on bills with bipartisan support.

Thirty-three Republicans and four Democrats opposed the Medicare bill negotiated by Speaker John BoehnerJohn Andrew BoehnerFive GOP lawmakers mulling bid to lead conservative caucus Ex-lawmakers see tough job market with trade groups Veterans are left out of medical marijuana protections MORE (R-Ohio) and House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.). 

The Republicans in opposition consisted of fiscal hawks who didn't want to vote for a measure that would add to the deficit. The Congressional Budget Office estimates the legislation would cost $214 billion over the next decade, with $73 billion of that total offset with spending cuts or new revenue. 

"While I support an SGR replacement, I cannot vote in favor of a bill that costs more than $200 billion, while Congress only pays for $70 billion, leaving more than $130 billion to our children and grandchildren. We cannot continue to solve every problem by adding to the deficit," Rep. Jim BridenstineJames (Jim) Frederick BridenstineTrump pick for top NASA role has no past experience in space operations Appeals court nominees languish in Senate as Flake demands tariff vote NASA needs Janet Kavandi if we’re going to make it back to the moon — then Mars MORE (R-Okla.) said in a statement.

BoehnerJohn Andrew BoehnerFive GOP lawmakers mulling bid to lead conservative caucus Ex-lawmakers see tough job market with trade groups Veterans are left out of medical marijuana protections MORE's office has touted that the Medicare bill would cost far less than keeping the current Medicare payment rates in place — something Congress has done for more than a decade through a series of "doc fixes."

The four Democrats who voted against the deal were Reps. Jim Cooper (Tenn.), Jerrold Nadler (N.Y.), Jan Schakowsky (Ill.) and Pete Visclosky (Ind.). 

Schakowsky said she opposed it in part because it included language codifying current law, known as the Hyde Amendment, that prohibits the use of taxpayer funding for abortions. 

"I believe we need to get rid of the Hyde restrictions altogether, and, as a proud member of the Pro-Choice Caucus, I reject the idea that those restrictions should have any place in this bill," Schakowsky said.

Some of the offsets include requiring seniors earning more than $133,000 to pay a higher share of premium costs and create a $147 deductible for certain supplemental "Medigap" plans.

Below is a list of all 37 lawmakers who voted against the bill:

1. Justin AmashJustin AmashGOP lawmaker: Trump 'went out of his way to appear subordinate' at Putin press conference House backs resolution expressing support for ICE House conservatives criticize media, not Trump, for Putin furor MORE (R-Mich.)
2. Rod Blum (R-Iowa)
3. Dave Brat (R-Va.)
4. Jim Bridenstine (R-Okla.)
5. Mo BrooksMorris (Mo) Jackson BrooksLatino groups intervene in Alabama census lawsuit Alabama GOP congressman preps possible Senate bid against Doug Jones Loyalty to Donald Trump is new normal for the Republican Party MORE (R-Ala.)
6. Ken Buck (R-Colo.)
7. Jim Cooper (D-Tenn.)
8. Ron DeSantis (R-Fla.)
9. Scott DesJarlais (R-Tenn.)
10. Scott GarrettErnest (Scott) Scott GarrettTrump taps nominee to lead Export-Import Bank Who has the edge for 2018: Republicans or Democrats? Rejected Trump nominee quietly hired by SEC: report MORE (R-N.J.)
11. Louie GohmertLouis (Louie) Buller GohmertHouse GOP questions FBI lawyer for second day Ex-GOP lawmaker: Strzok hearing 'was a humiliating day' for Republicans Peter Strzok exhibited an astonishing lack of self-awareness MORE (R-Texas)
12. Tom GravesJohn (Tom) Thomas GravesHouse committee approves spending bill that would boost IRS funding House panel advances financial services spending bill Georgia governor vetoes controversial hacking legislation MORE (R-Ga.)
13. Glenn Grothman (R-Wis.)
14. Tim Huelskamp (R-Kan.)
15. Randy Hultgren (R-Ill.)
16. Darrell Issa (R-Calif.)
17. Sam JohnsonSamuel (Sam) Robert JohnsonMay brings key primaries across nation Loss of Ryan hits hard for House Republicans Watchdog: Social Security acting head hasn't been authorized to serve for months MORE (R-Texas)
18. David Jolly (R-Fla.)
19. Walter Jones (R-N.C.)
20. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio)
21. Steve King (R-Iowa)
22. Raúl Labrador (R-Idaho)
23. Barry Loudermilk (R-Ga.)
24. Cynthia LummisCynthia Marie LummisLobbying world Female lawmakers flee House for higher office, retirement Despite a battle won, 'War on Coal' far from over MORE (R-Wyo.)
25. Kenny Marchant (R-Texas)
26. Thomas Massie (R-Ky.)
27. Tom McClintock (R-Calif.)
28. Mark Meadows (R-N.C.)
29. Mick Mulvaney (R-S.C.)
30. Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.)
31. Gary Palmer (R-Ala.)
32. John Ratcliffe (R-Texas)
33. Mark Sanford (R-S.C.)
34. Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.)
35. David SchweikertDavid SchweikertMembers of Congress demand new federal gender pay audit Republican candidate favored in Arizona special House election Ryan leaves legacy of tax cuts and deficits MORE (R-Ariz.)
36. Jim SensenbrennerFrank (Jim) James SensenbrennerOne bill that will stop the spread of deadly fentanyl Ryan backs Vukmir in Wisconsin Senate GOP primary Lawmakers question FBI director on encryption MORE (R-Wis.)
37. Pete Visclosky (D-Ind.)

— Peter Sullivan contributed.