President Obama has signed disaster declarations for 10 states and the District of Columbia, which allows those states to access Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) funds for recovery efforts.

"My staff is actively engaged across the state and will work to help assess damage and look for solutions," Rockefeller said in a statement Tuesday. "I remain committed to helping in any way until we recover. And I’m thankful the President acted quickly in clearing the way for federal disaster assistance."

Hurricane Sandy affected much of the Northeast. Disaster declarations from the White House were issued for Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia and the District of Columbia.

Manchin and Rockefeller advised their constituents to work together as the storm passed.

“West Virginians take care of each other," Rockefeller said. "Check in on family, neighbors and friends. Lend a hand where you can."