DeMint names two more earmark-ban supporters

Sen. Jim DeMint (R-S.C.) tweeted twice on Friday to note two more supporters of his earmark ban: Sens. Mike Johanns (R-Neb.) and John Barrasso (R-Wyo.).

The other 13 co-sponsors are: Sens. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.), Bob Corker (R-Tenn.), John Ensign (R-Nev.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Richard Burr (R-N.C.) and Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.) and Sens.-elect Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) and Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.).

DeMint will present the ban to a meeting of the Republican Conference next week, where it will face opposition from a large portion of the caucus.

The language of the proposed moratorium reads, "Resolved, that it is the policy of the Republican Conference that no Member shall request a congressionally directed spending item, limited tax benefit, or limited tariff benefit, as such terms are used in Rule XLIV of the Standing Rules of the Senate for the 112th Congress."

More in News

Obama Foundation names architects for presidential library

Read more »