Shaheen, Portman latest State of the Union seatmates

According to the bipartisan group No Labels, more than 120 members of Congress have signed on to the group’s call for bipartisan seating at the State of the Union.

Some of the other bipartisan seatmates announced so far include Sen. Mary Landrieu (D-La.), who will be sitting with Sen. Richard Shelby (R-Ala.); Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) with Sen. Mark Udall (D-Colo.); Sen. Mark Kirk (R-Ill.) with Sen. Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.); Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine) with Sen. Joe Lieberman (I-Conn.); Sen. Kay Hagan (D-N.C.) with Sen. Joe McCain (R-Ariz.); and Rep. Ron Kind (D-Wis.) with Rep. Dave Reichert (R-Wash.).

Last year, Udall called on lawmakers to sit with a member of the opposing party instead of the traditional, partisan seating arrangement as a symbolic show of unity following the assassination attempt on Rep. Gabrielle Giffords (D-Ariz.). The process of finding State of the Union “dates” became a bonding narrative on Capitol Hill.

Most of the seat dates announced so far this year are changed from last year.

More in News

GOP governor seems to take shot at Trump in State of the Union response

Read more »