The inaugural committee officially launched on Thursday along with the announcement of the committee co-chairmen and a preliminary schedule for inauguration weekend.

The co-chairmen include Matthew Barzun, the campaign's national finance chair, Jane Stetson, national finance chair for the Democratic National Committee, Frank White, a former member of the National Advisory Council on Minority Business Enterprises, and the actress Eva Longoria, who also served as a national co-chairwoman for Obama's presidential campaign.

The honorary co-chairmen include all living former presidents: Jimmy Carter, George H. W. Bush, Bill ClintonWilliam (Bill) Jefferson ClintonShould the Rob Porter outcome set the standard? Make the compromise: Ending chain migration is a small price to legalize Dreamers Assessing Trump's impeachment odds through a historic lens MORE and George W. Bush.

The president's private swearing-in takes place Jan. 20, but the public event, parade and balls take place Jan. 21, which happens to be Martin Luther King Jr. Day. 

The president, first lady, vice president and other senior members of the administration will participate in a National Day of Service on Jan. 19, "to honor our shared values and celebrate the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr," according to the release form the president's inaugural committee.