• President Obama has nominated Frederick Barton to be the State Department’s assistant secretary for conflict and stabilization operations and coordinator for reconstruction and stabilization. Barton is senior adviser to the secretary of State. He has served as the U.S. representative on the economic and social council of the United Nations. Before that, he served as a senior adviser and co-director for the post-conflict reconstruction project at the Center for Strategic and International Studies.

• The president nominated Dr. Arun Majumdar to be the Energy Department’s undersecretary of Energy. Majumdar is the director of the Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy. Prior to that, he worked at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory as associate laboratory director for energy and environment and was a professor at the University of California, Berkeley. He has also been a member of the National Science Foundation’s engineering directorate and served on the president’s Council of Advisers on Science and Technology.

• The president nominated Marie Smith to be a member of the Social Security Advisory Board. Smith previously worked for AARP as president and spokeswoman from 2004 to 2006. Before that, she was the organization’s president-elect starting in 2002. Smith also worked for the Social Security Administration for 25 years, where she eventually held the position of director of manpower management.

• The president intends to appoint Mark Alderman to be a member of the National Air and Space Museum advisory board. Alderman currently works at Cozen O’Connor PC as a partner and is chairman of Cozen O’Connor Public Strategies. He has served on the NASDAQ Futures Exchange board of directors and on the advisory board of Philadelphia International Airport.

• The president announced that he intends to appoint Fletcher Wiley to be a member of the board of visitors for United States Air Force Academy. Wiley works at Bingham McCutchen as of counsel. He also used to work for the New England Legal Foundation as director and was a Harvard Law School Black Alumni Organization founding participant.