• President Obama has nominated Erin Conaton to be undersecretary of Defense for personnel and readiness. Conaton currently serves as the undersecretary of the Air Force. Before that, she served as the staff director, the minority staff director and a professional staff member for the House Armed Services Committee.

• The president has nominated Deborah Delisle to be the Education Department’s assistant secretary for elementary and secondary education. Delisle previously worked as the Ohio Department of Education’s state superintendent of public instruction. Before that, she served as superintendent and associate superintendent in the Cleveland Heights-University Heights City School District in Ohio and held several other positions with school districts in the state.

• Obama nominated James Jones to be assistant administrator for toxic substances within the Environmental Protection Agency’s Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention. He currently serves as the office’s acting assistant administrator. Jones has also served as the deputy assistant administrator in the EPA’s Office of Air and Radiation. Before that, he worked in the EPA’s Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention as the deputy assistant administrator, and as director of the agency’s Office of Pesticide Programs.

• The president has nominated James Miller to be the undersecretary of Defense for policy. Miller works in the Defense Department as the principal deputy undersecretary for policy. Before that, he served as the Center for a New American Security’s senior vice president and director of studies. He has also served as the deputy assistant secretary of Defense for requirements, plans and counterproliferation policy.

• President Obama nominated Adam Sieminski to be the energy information administrator within the Energy Department. Sieminski works for Deustche Bank as the chief energy economist. Prior to that, he worked for the bank’s global oil and gas equity team as the director and energy strategist. He has also worked for NatWest Securities and Washington Analysis Corp. in leadership positions.

• The president nominated Tony Clark to be the federal energy regulatory commissioner. Clark is a North Dakota Public Service Commission senior member, and was president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners. He has also held state office in North Dakota, serving as a representative in the state House there from 1994 to 1997.