Lobbyist group to elect new leaders

The trade group for lobbyists and consultants will be voting on several new leadership and board members, including a replacement for the current president, Monte Ward, according to an email sent to members on Friday.

The Association of Government Relations Professionals (AGRP) will have its annual meeting on Dec. 4, where members will be able to cast votes to approve the selections made by AGRP’s nominating committee.

Ward, who runs a firm called Advanced Capitol Consulting, has been president of the organization since 2012. Jim Hickey, a lobbyist at the construction and engineering company Day & Zimmermann and current first vice president of the group, has been selected to replace him.

Last year, the organization changed its name to AGRP from the American League of Lobbyists to better “represent the range of associated professions involved in the government affairs, lobbying and public affairs community.”

AGRP was originally formed to act not only as a trade group, but also a defender of the lobbying profession.

Many of the ARGP nominees already serve on the group's board of directors, but may see their roles shift. The full list of nominees are:

President: Jim Hickey, Day & Zimmermann
First Vice President: Paul Kelly, The Federal Group
Second Vice President: Laura Perrotta, National Automobile Dealers Association
Secretary/Treasurer: Gene Moran, Capitol Integration
Immediate Past President: Monte Ward, Advanced Capitol Consulting

Board members

Three-year term
Carrie Bachner, The Bachner Group LLC
Eric Dell, National Automatic Merchandising Association
Omar Franco, Becker & Poliakoff P.A.
Amy Showalter, The Showalter Group

Two-year vacant term
Kenny Ames, Fireside 21

One-year vacant term
Nathaniel Wienecke, Property Casualty Insurers Association of America