White House: President Bush named Maggie Grant to be deputy assistant to the president and director of intergovernmental affairs. Grant recently served as special assistant to the president for intergovernmental affairs.

The president chose Paul R. Eckert to be associate counsel to the president. Eckert previously served as a partner in the securities enforcement group at Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP.

Bush recess-appointed Dabney Langhorne Friedrich, of Virginia, to be a member of the United States Sentencing Commission.

•U.S. Sentencing Commission: Bush recess-appointed Beryl A. Howell to be a member of the U.S. Sentencing Commission.

The president recess-appointed John R. Steer to be a member of the commission and designated him vice chair.

National Capital Planning Commission: The president intends to appoint John V. Cogbill III to be a member of the National Capital Planning Commission for a six-year term and upon appointment designate him chairman.

•Medal of Valor Review Board: Bush intends to appoint Stephen J. Cassidy to be a member of the Medal of Valor Review Board (Firefighting) for a four-year term beginning Jan. 1, 2007.

Corporation of Public Broadcasting: The president has recess-appointed Warren Bell to be a member of the corporation.

Federal Labor Relations Authority: The president has recess-appointed Wayne Cartwright Beyer to be a member of the Federal Labor Relations Authority.