Whip list on GOP leadership races

645X363 - No Companion - Full Sharing - Additional videos are suggested - Policy/Regulation/Blogs


House Republican lawmakers are jockeying for senior leadership posts in the wake of Majority Leader Eric Cantor’s (R-Va.) primary loss last week.

The House GOP conference will vote Thursday, June 19 to determine its new leadership team.
Below are the publicly committed lawmakers in the contests and their stated supporters.

LAST UPDATED ON 6/19/14 AT 11:38 A.M.


RECENT UPDATES: Reps. Mark Amodei (Nev.), Cynthia Lummis (Wyo.), Todd Young (Ind.), Tom Graves (Ga.), Tom Cole (Okla.), John Campbell (Calif.), Kevin Brady (Texas), Jim Bridenstine (Okla.), Renee Ellmers (N.C.), Steve Womack (Ark.), Tim Murphy (Pa.), Paul Gosar (Ariz.), Jim Renacci (Ohio), Ted Yoho (Fla.) and Lee Terry (Neb.)

Kevin McCarthy (Calif.) (38)

  • Marsha Blackburn (Tenn.)
  • James Bridenstine (Okla.) — Voted for Cantor for Speaker last year.
  • Dave Camp (Mich.) — Retiring Ways and Means Committee chairman.
  • John Campbell (Calif.) — “I think it’s really important that we send a message of stability,” citing economy on the “edge.”
  • Eric Cantor (Va.) — Has long been friends with McCarthy.
  • Tom Cole (Okla.)
  • Doug Collins (Ga.)
  • Jeff Denham (Calif.) — Backing McCarthy, according to Politico.
  • Renee Ellmers (N.C.)
  • Trey Gowdy (S.C.) — Conservative who is heading Benghazi probe.
  • Kay Granger (Texas) — Not backing home-state colleague, Rep. Pete Sessions. Calls McCarthy and Roskam “fantastic managers.”
  • Richard Hudson (N.C.)
  • Darrell Issa (Calif.) — Backs his California colleague.
  • Lynn Jenkins (Kan.) — Jenkins serves on the GOP leadership team.
  • Pete King (N.Y.)
  • Adam Kinzinger (Ill.)
  • Doug LaMalfa (Calif.)
  • Patrick McHenry (N.C.) — Backing McCarthy, according to Politico.
  • Buck McKeon (Calif.) — Chairman of the Armed Services Committee.
  • Mick Mulvaney (S.C.)
  • Devin Nunes (Calif.)
  • Robert Pittenger (N.C.)
  • Tom Rice (S.C.)
  • Hal Rogers (Ky.) — Heads the Appropriations Committee.
  • Tom Rooney (Fla.)
  • Peter Roskam (Ill.) — McCarthy selected Roskam as his deputy.
  • Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (Fla.)
  • Ed Royce (Calif.) — Foreign Affairs Committee chairman.
  • Paul Ryan (Wis.) — A big get for McCarthy.
  • Aaron Schock (Ill.)
  • Marlin Stutzman (Ind.) — Running for whip.
  • Lee Terry (Neb.)
  • Patrick Tiberi (Ohio)
  • Fred Upton (Mich.) — Chairman of the Energy and Commerce Committee.
  • David Valadao (Calif.)
  • Ann Wagner (Mo.)
  • Lynn Westmoreland (Ga.) — "He's battle-tested."
  • Steve Womack (Ark.)

Rep. Raúl Labrador (Idaho) (5)

  • Justin Amash (Mich.)
  • Tim Huelskamp (Kan.) — Said Labrador would be a "great majority leader" on former Gov. Mike Huckabee's (R) Fox show.
  • Thomas Massie (Ky.) — Backs Labrador, according to Cincinnati.com.
  • Matt Salmon (Ariz.)
  • Ted Yoho (Fla.)

Pete Sessions (Texas) (8)  Sessions dropped his bid for House majority leader Thursday evening

  • Joe Barton (Texas)
  • Michael Burgess (Texas)
  • John Carter (Texas)
  • Blake Farenthold (Texas) — Said he expects Texas delegation to back Sessions.
  • Morgan Griffith (Va.)
  • Jeb Hensarling (Texas) — Opted not to run for majority leader.
  • Steve Stockman (Texas)
  • Randy Weber (Texas)

Peter Roskam (Ill.) (23)

  • Rob Bishop (Utah)
  • Diane Black (Tenn.)
  • Rodney Davis (Ill.)
  • Mario Diaz-Balart (Fla.) — Diaz-Balart a supporter, according to The Washington Post.
  • Randy Forbes (Va.)
  • Paul Gosar (Ariz.) — According to Roll Call.
  • Trey Gowdy (S.C.)
  • Kay Granger (Texas)
  • Gregg Harper (Miss.)
  • George Holding (N.C.) — According to Politico.
  • Richard Hudson (N.C.)
  • Randy Hultgren (Ill.)
  • Mike Kelly (Pa.)
  • Pete King (N.Y.)
  • Candice Miller (Mich.)
  • Jeff Miller (Fla.)
  • Tim Murphy (Pa.)
  • Jim Renacci (Ohio) — According to Roll Call.
  • Tom Rice (S.C.)
  • Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (Fla.)
  • Mike Simpson (Idaho)
  • Lamar Smith (Texas)
  • Pat Tiberi (Ohio)

Steve Scalise (La.) (27)

  • Joe Barton (Texas)
  • Kevin Brady (Texas) — Will back Scalise, Politico reports.
  • John Campbell (Calif.)
  • Bill Cassidy (La.)
  • Tom Cole (Okla.) — CNN reporting that Cole backs Scalise. A big get for the Louisiana lawmaker.
  • Renee Ellmers (N.C.)
  • John Fleming (La.)
  • Cory Gardner (Colo.) — Senate hopeful is backing Scalise, according to The Washington Post.
  • Darrell Issa (Calif.) — Oversight panel chairman.
  • Vance McAllister (La.)
  • Rep. Tom McClintock (R-Calif.)
  • Patrick McHenry (N.C.)
  • Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Wash.) — The Washington Post reporting that the No. 4-ranked Republican backs Scalise.
  • Phil Roe (Tenn.)
  • Ed Royce (Calif.) — Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee.
  • Alan Nunnelee (Miss.) — Recovering from brain surgery.
  • Joe Pitts (Pa.)
  • Dennis Ross (Fla.) — According to Roll Call.
  • Aaron Schock (Ill.) — He believes Scalise is the "best man for the job," Schock spokesman said.
  • Bill Shuster (Pa.) — Transportation Committee chairman baccks Scalise, according to Politico.
  • Steve Stivers (Ohio)
  • Lee Terry (Neb.)
  • Fred Upton (Mich.) — Energy and Commerce Committee chairman
  • Ann Wagner (Mo.) 
  • Lynn Westmoreland (Ga.) — Westmoreland supports Scalise, according to Politico.
  • Steve Womack (Ark.)
  • Ted Yoho (Fla.)


Marlin Stutzman (Ind.) (14)

  • Mark Amodei (Nev.) — According to Washington Examiner.
  • Jim Bridensteine (Okla.)
  • Sean Duffy (Wis.)
  • Jeff Duncan (S.C.) — Backing Stutzman, according to National Journal.
  • Tom Graves (Ga.) — A Stutzman backer, though would back Roskam on a second ballot, Politico reports.
  • Andy Harris (Md.)
  • Jim Jordan (Ohio) — Key get for Stutzman. Jordan is a former chairman of the Republican Study Committee.
  • Cynthia Lummis (Wyo.) — According to Washington Examiner.
  • Mick Mulvaney (S.C.) — He backs Stutzman, Politico reports.
  • Robert Pittenger (N.C.)
  • Tom Reed (N.Y.)
  • Steve Southerland (Fla.) — Switched from Roskam to Stutzman, according to National Journal.
  • Jackie Walorski (Ind.)
  • Todd Young (Ind.) — According to Washington Examiner.

* If Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) loses his bid for majority leader, he will retain his majority whip post, and there will not be a race for that slot.
Please send tips/feedback to Bob Cusack at bcusack@thehill.com.

Russell Berman, Timothy Cama, Bob Cusack, Pierre De Dreuzy, Isaac Feeth, Molly K. Hooper, Vivian Hughbanks, Alexandra Jaffe, Cristina Marcos, Tomas Navia, and Pete Schroeder contributed.