House GOP approves committee chairmen

House Republicans approved their slate of committee chairmen on Wednesday afternoon.

GOP members backed the chair selection of 19 males at a closed-door meeting on Capitol Hill.

According to lawmakers in the room, very little was said concerning the lack of females chosen by a select group of House Republicans to preside over the powerful panels in the next Congress.

Outgoing Foreign Affairs Committee Chairwoman Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-Fla.) was the sole woman to head a panel this year.

Ros-Lehtinen, who is leaving her post due to internal GOP 6-year term limits, told The Hill that there are still opportunities for women to chair committees.

Speaker John Boehner (R-Ohio) has yet to appoint lawmakers to head up the Ethics and House Administration Committees. Those appointments do not need to be ratified by the full GOP conference. Republican women lawmakers are pressing Boehner to fill those positions with women.

The full slate of House committee chairmen for the 113th Congress is as follows:

    Agriculture – Rep. Frank Lucas (R-OK)
    Appropriations – Rep. Hal Rogers (R-KY)
    Armed Services – Rep. Howard “Buck” McKeon (R-CA)
    Budget – Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI)
    Education and the Workforce – Rep. John Kline (R-MN)
    Energy and Commerce – Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI)
    Financial Services – Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-TX)
    Foreign Affairs – Rep. Ed Royce (R-CA)
    Homeland Security – Rep. Mike McCaul (R-TX)
    Intelligence – Rep. Mike Rogers (R-MI)
    Judiciary – Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)
    Natural Resources – Rep. Doc Hastings (R-WA)
    Oversight and Government Reform – Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA)
    Rules – Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX)
    Science, Space, and Technology – Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX)
    Small Business – Rep. Sam Graves (R-MO)
    Transportation and Infrastructure – Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA)
    Veterans’ Affairs – Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL)
    Ways and Means – Rep. Dave Camp (R-MI)