GOP defections pile up on Plan B

Two-dozen House Republicans say they will vote against Speaker John Boehner (R-Ohio) Plan B tax bill or are leaning no votes, according to a vote tally conducted by The Hill.

In order to pass their bill, House GOP leaders need to minimize defections to about 24 — or get some help from Democrats.

House Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-Va.) on Thursday predicted Plan B will pass, but that remains to be seen. Democrats are widely expected to oppose the measure, though Democratic leaders have not predicted that the vote will not be unanimous.

Thirteen Republicans voted against the rule that brought the Plan B measure to the floor, which is a high number of defections for a procedural vote.

Among the defections on the procedural motion were Reps. Justin Amash (Mich.), Paul Broun (Ga.), Louie Gohmert (Texas), Tim Huelskamp (Kan.), Walter Jones (N.C.), Ron Paul (Texas), Jean Schmidt (Ohio) and Joe Walsh (Ill.).

Senate Democrats on Thursday said they will not schedule a vote on Plan B. The White House has vowed to veto it.