House Republicans getting behind 'No Budget, No Pay' legislation

Conservatives in the House are getting behind “No Budget, No Pay” legislation that calls for a short-term hike in the nation’s debt ceiling.

The bill is expected to attract bipartisan support in the House on Wednesday, which would be a triumph for Speaker John BoehnerJohn BoehnerLast Congress far from ‘do-nothing’ Top aide: Obama worried about impeachment for Syria actions An anti-government ideologue like Mulvaney shouldn't run OMB MORE (R-Ohio) after his fumbling of the fiscal-cliff debate.

But it remains to be seen how united the House GOP conference will be on the legislation, which would withhold members’ pay if a budget resolution fails to pass their respective chambers by April 15.

Early indications are that Republicans will be more far more unified than they were on the fiscal cliff.

Reps. Steve Southerland (R-Fla.), Raúl Labrador (R-Idaho), Andy Harris (R-Md.), Bill Huizenga (R-Mich.) and Scott RigellScott RigellGOP rushes to embrace Trump GOP lawmaker appears in Gary Johnson ad Some in GOP say Trump has gone too far MORE (R-Va.) support the bill, according to their spokesmen. All five have bucked leadership on high-profile votes in the last Congress. Rep. David SchweikertDavid SchweikertDems launch early '18 attacks on GOP Senate targets Republicans add 13 members to Financial Services, Ways and Means committees The Hill's 12:30 Report MORE (Ariz.), another GOP defector on fiscal bills, is undecided, but appeared to be leaning yes on Tuesday.

Reps. Tim Huelskamp (R-Kan.), Thomas Massie (R-Ky.) and Justin Amash (R-Mich.), who are not shy in defying their leaders, are leaning no.

Aides for more than a handful of other GOP members said they were undecided.

Meanwhile, Rep. Jim McDermottJim McDermottDem lawmaker: Israel's accusations start of 'war on the American government' Dem to Trump on House floor: ‘Stop tweeting’ A record number of Indian Americans have been elected to Congress MORE (D-Wash.) is leaning no, while Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-Texas) told The Hill he will likely back the measure.

The bill, which would increase the debt ceiling until May, is expected to pass the Senate.

--Russell Berman, Molly K. Hooper, Erik Wasson, Bob Cusack, Taylor Seale and Zachary DeRitis contributed.