Senate rejects Democrats’ Iraq plan

The Senate on Thursday rejected a Democratic-backed resolution imposing a yearlong window to withdraw most of the U.S. troops from Iraq, with only Republican Sen. Gordon Smith (Ore.) crossing over to vote with the majority, which fell short of the necessary 60 votes.

Three Democratic caucus members opposed to their leadership’s resolution were Sens. Joe Lieberman (D-Conn.), Mark PryorMark Lunsford PryorMedicaid rollback looms for GOP senators in 2020 Cotton pitches anti-Democrat message to SC delegation Ex-Sen. Kay Hagan joins lobby firm MORE (D-Ark.) and Ben Nelson (D-Neb.), who joined Sen. John Warner (R-Va.) on a proposed alternative that did not receive a floor vote. Smith, preparing for a hotly contested 2008 reelection race, supported the measure while Sen. John McCainJohn Sidney McCainMcCain rips Trump for attacks on press NSA spying program overcomes key Senate hurdle Meghan McCain says her father regrets opposition to MLK Day MORE (R-Ariz.), locked in his own close race for the presidency, missed the vote while on a bus tour of primary states.

Both parties’ companion resolutions expressing support for troops in the field passed; Sen. Judd Gregg’s (R-N.H.) by an 82-16 vote and Democratic Caucus Secretary Patty MurrayPatricia (Patty) Lynn MurrayCDC director to miss fourth hearing because of potential ethics issues Week ahead: Lawmakers near deal on children's health funding Ryan suggests room for bipartisanship on ObamaCare MORE’s (Wash.) by a 98-2 vote. Gregg’s resolution was aimed at putting members on record as opposing any funding cuts for the war, while Murray’s highlighted commitment to caring for service members in the wake of the Walter Reed and other veterans’ health scandals.

Sens. Hillary Rodham Clinton (D-N.Y.) and Barack ObamaBarack Hussein ObamaMcCarthy: ‘No deadline on DACA’ Democrats will need to explain if they shut government down over illegal immigration Trump’s first year in office was the year of the woman MORE (D-Ill.), jockeying for their party’s White House nomination, supported the Gregg plan, a vote that may earn them disfavor with antiwar advocacy groups. Their fellow Democratic presidential hopefuls, Joseph Biden (Del.) and Chris Dodd (Conn.), voted against the Gregg language.

The only member of the Democratic leadership to back Gregg was Caucus Vice Chairman Charles SchumerCharles (Chuck) Ellis SchumerDemocrats will need to explain if they shut government down over illegal immigration White House: Trump remarks didn't derail shutdown talks Schumer defends Durbin after GOP senator questions account of Trump meeting MORE (N.Y.), a supporter of Clinton’s 2008 run.

Freshman Sen. Bob CorkerRobert (Bob) Phillips CorkerSenate campaign fundraising reports roll in Congress should take the lead on reworking a successful Iran deal North Korea tensions ease ahead of Winter Olympics MORE (R-Tenn.) was the only member voting against all three Iraq proposals on the floor.