McCormack Award winners announced

Billy Pitts, former staff director of the House Rules Committee, and George Crawford, a former Democratic leadership aide, will receive the McCormack Award for Excellence, which honors longtime employees of the House.

Speaker Dennis Hastert (R-Ill.) and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) announced the choices last week. The award is named for former House Speaker John W. McCormack (D-Mass.).

“Both of these men have had distinguished careers in the House of Representatives,” Hastert said. “Their legacies are marked by broad accomplishment and the ability to work with members of Congress from both sides of the aisle to get the job done.”

Pitts is considered the foremost expert on House rules and procedures. After graduating from Georgetown University, he took a job in the House GOP cloakroom and rose through the ranks to become the top floor assistant to then-Minority Leader Bob Michel (R-Ill.). Pitts retired last year.

Crawford, a 24-year veteran of Capitol Hill, served as Pelosi’s chief of staff and worked for 20 years on the House Rules Committee.