Carper replacing Lieberman as Homeland Security Committee chairman

Sen. Tom Carper (D-Del.) has been chosen to take the helm of the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee in the next Congress.

The Democratic Steering Committee made the announcement on Wednesday after meeting to approve committee chairmen and members in the upper chamber.

Carper will replace Sen. Joe Lieberman (I-Conn.), who is retiring at the end of this Congress, and will face issues ranging from terrorist and cyber attacks and border security to postal reform and Social Security legislation.

“I know there are numerous challenges that still lie ahead – whether it is securing our nation's borders and ports, protecting our critical infrastructure from cyber attacks, reducing wasteful and fraudulent spending or getting better results from ineffective programs,” said Carper.

Sen. Daniel Akaka (D-Hawaii) is also retiring at the end of this year. The vacancies have been filled by incoming freshmen Sens. Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.). 

Returning Democrats to the committee include Sens. Carl Levin (Mich.), Mark Pryor (Ala.), Mary Landrieu (La.), Claire McCaskill (Mo.), Jon Tester (Mont.) and Mark Begich (Alaska).

Carper previously served as chairman of the panel’s subcommittee on Federal Financial Management, Government Information, Federal Services and International Security.

This story was updated at 5:05 p.m.