Senate swears in new members

Senate swears in new members
© Getty Images

Seven new senators were sworn in on Tuesday afternoon as lawmakers kick-started the new Congress.

Vice President Biden swore in the freshmen, as well as 27 senators who won reelection in November. Tuesday marks the last time the outgoing vice president will preside over a new Congress.

"I'm pleased to welcome back familiar faces and express warm greetings to new members," Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnellAddison (Mitch) Mitchell McConnellTrump's plan to claw back spending hits wall in Congress GOP lawmakers want Trump to stop bashing Congress Parkland father calls out Trump, McConnell, Ryan after Santa Fe shooting MORE (R-Ky.) said to the Senate gallery, packed with staffers and family members, after the swearings-in.

He added that while lawmakers have "hard work" ahead, the new senators should "take a moment to celebrate the rich tradition of this day."

The event also brought a handful of former lawmakers, including former Sens. Jim DeMint (R-S.C.) and Richard Lugar (R-Ind.), back to the Senate floor.

Newly retired lawmakers, including former Minority Leader Harry ReidHarry Mason ReidMcConnell not yet ready to change rules for Trump nominees The Hill's Morning Report — Sponsored by CVS Health — Trump’s love-hate relationship with the Senate Trump to press GOP on changing Senate rules MORE (D-Nev.), escorted their successors around the chamber. Former Sen. Barbara MikulskiBarbara Ann MikulskiDems ponder gender politics of 2020 nominee Robert Mueller's forgotten surveillance crime spree Clinton: White House slow-walking Russia sanctions MORE (D-Md.) stood with Sen. Patty MurrayPatricia (Patty) Lynn MurrayOvernight Health Care — Sponsored by PCMA — Trump official won't OK lifetime limits on Medicaid Dems warn against changes to federal family planning program Overnight Health Care: Drug company under scrutiny for Michael Cohen payments | New Ebola outbreak | FDA addresses EpiPen shortage MORE (D-Wash.), who will now be the longest-serving female senator, as she was sworn in by Biden.

Republicans are welcoming two new senators — Todd YoungTodd Christopher YoungInternational trade: Big business for small businesses Senators introduce bill to update Trump's war authority This week: House GOP plots path forward MORE (R-Ind.) and John Kennedy (R-La.).

Democrats have five new senators: Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.) and Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.).

Biden will conduct ceremonial swearings-in with new senators in the Old Senate Chamber on Tuesday afternoon.