Bishop returns to Armed Services panel

Bishop could also wind up as head of the Strategic Forces subcommittee if that panel’s current chairman, Rep. Mike Turner (R-Ohio), winds up taking Tactical Air and Land, according to industry sources. Turner has expressed interest in moving to the new subcommittee.

Bishop’s status as a potential subcommittee chairman, however, is still up in the air because he is also a subcommittee chairman on National Resources and a member of the Rules Committee.

Bishop spokeswoman Melissa Subbotin did not comment on the potential that Bishop could take a subcommittee chairmanship, but she said the Air and Land and the Readiness subcommittees were the two he’s most interested in serving on because of their jurisdiction over installations in his district.

The Tactical Air and Land subcommittee post is open after Rep. Roscoe Bartlett (R-Md.) lost reelection this year.

One lawmaker not likely to try to move into the post is the committee’s vice chairman, Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-Texas), whom defense sources say is expected to remain as chairman of the Emerging Threats subcommittee.

On the Democratic side, the Air and Land ranking member position is also open after Rep. Silvestre Reyes (D-Texas) lost in a primary.

Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-Calif.) has the seniority to take over that spot but has not yet decided whether she wants to do so, according to congressional sources.

The decision for subcommittee chairmaships is up to McKeon, whose office is not commenting about the positions until they are named.

McKeon also announced Wednesday new members who will be on the committee next year: Reps. Jim BridenstineJames (Jim) Frederick BridenstineHouse members urge Senate to confirm Trump's NASA nominee Overnight Energy: Dems go on attack at EPA chief's hearing | Pruitt backs national fuel standard | Bill Nye sparks controversy with State of the Union plans | Greens sue over wolf protections Bill Nye's company says SOTU attendance not an endorsement MORE (R-Okla.), Paul Cook (R-Calif.), Kristi Noem (R-S.D.), Rich Nugent (R-Fla.), Jackie Walorski (R-Ind.) and Brad Wenstrup (R-Ohio).