Rep. Young gets waiver to remain Defense Appropriations chairman

Rep. Bill Young (R-Fla.) will remain chairman of the House Appropriations Defense subcommittee next year after being granted a waiver to keep his post, the committee announced Monday.

Young is one of only two House Republicans to receive a waiver bypassing GOP term limits for chairmen, joining 2012 vice presidential nominee Rep. Paul RyanPaul Davis RyanYou just can't keep good health policy down Trump blasts Congress for sending him omnibus bill that 'nobody read' Students bash Congress for inaction on gun control MORE (R-Wis.), who is staying on as Budget Committee chairman.

Other chairmen who are leaving their positions in the 113th Congress, such as Homeland Security Chairman Pete King (R-N.Y.) and Transportation Chairman John Mica (R-Fla.), were not given waivers to go beyond the six-year limit.

Young, who has served in Congress since 1971, has now received a waiver to stay on as defense subcommittee chairman for two consecutive terms.

As chairman, Young oversees spending for a defense budget that tops $600 billion, and he will continue to be a key decision maker in Congress for major weapons programs like the F-35 fighter, KC-46 tanker and littoral combat ship.

In a statement, Young said that he appreciated "the confidence the Speaker and Chairman [Hal] Rogers (R-Ky.) have shown in me to bring before the House good appropriations bills."

On the Democratic side, ranking member Rep. Norm Dicks (D-Wash.) is retiring, which opens his post as top Democrat on the Defense subcommittee. Rep. Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.) is replacing Dicks as the full committee’s ranking member.

Rep. Pete Visclosky (D-Ind.) is expected to take over for Dicks on the Defense panel, industry and congressional sources say. However, that position has not yet been finalized.

Rogers announced the full slate of Appropriations subcommittee chairmen Wednesday, which includes several changes from the 112th Congress.

Rep. Jack Kingston (R-Ga.) is the new Labor subcommittee chair, replacing outgoing Rep. Denny Rehberg (R-Mont.).

Rep. Robert AderholtRobert Brown AderholtHouse Oversight a gavel no one wants Overnight Finance: House Appropriations chair to retire | Exit sets off fight for gavel | GOP banks on tax cuts to help in midterms | Crypto exchange under scrutiny after theft | Conservatives push Trump on capital gains taxes House retirement sets off scramble for coveted chairmanship MORE (R-Ala.) is taking over for Kingston on the Agriculture panel, and Rep. John Carter (R-Texas) replaces Aderholt as Homeland Security chair.

— This post was updated at 3:19 p.m.