Dems highlight climate science to counter GOP push on EPA rules

The Democratic memo adds: “There is a broad scientific consensus among the world’s preeminent scientific bodies that climate change is happening, is largely caused by human activities, and poses serious risks to human health, the environment, national security, and multiple sectors of the economy.”

The memo — circulated among committee members and staff — then cites a suite of scientific bodies, such as the National Academy of Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and others, that say dangerous human-induced climate change is under way.

Committee Democrats requested the Tuesday hearing.

A GOP memo circulated in advance of the hearing is much more bare-bones, listing the witnesses and providing brief background on regulations EPA has begun phasing in and the legislation to nix the agency’s authority.

But Republicans, in promoting the bill — co-sponsored by Energy and Power subcommittee Chairman Ed WhitfieldEd WhitfieldWhy Republicans took aim at an ethics watchdog What Azerbaijan wants from Israel? Overnight Energy: Green group sues Exxon over climate science MORE (R-Ky.) — are largely steering clear of a scientific issues, emphasizing what they say will be harmful economic effects of the EPA rules.

In a press release on the hearing Monday, Upton’s office says the bill would “block EPA’s controversial backdoor climate change agenda that would further drive up the price of energy for American consumers and job creators at a time when gas prices are already spiking and job creation remains weak.”

The House bill introduced last week attracted backing from two senior House Democrats: Rep. Nick RahallNick RahallLikely W.Va. Senate GOP rivals spar in radio appearances West Virginia is no longer Clinton country Solution needed: Rail congestion is stifling economic growth MORE (W.Va.), who is the ranking member of the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, and Rep. Collin Peterson (Minn.), who is the top Democrat on the Agriculture Committee.