Copenhagen codel: Hoyer, others may join speaker in Denmark

We're hearing a few more names that could be part of the congressional delegation heading to Copenhagen next week.

In addition to Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.), House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-Mary.) and Reps. John Larson (D-Conn.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Bart Gordon (D-Tenn.) and Jay Inslee (D-Wash.) may also attend, according to a source with knowledge of the trip. (UPDATE: An aide says Van Hollen was invited but can't attend the codel due to a scheduling conflict.)

The primary authors of the climate legislation – Reps. Henry Waxman (D-Calif.) and Edward Markey (D-Mass.) – are also planning on heading over. As is House Agriculture Committee Chairman Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), who became something of headache for Democratic leaders in pressing for farm friendly provisions in the climate bill before the House vote. 

Republicans James Sensenbrenner (Wis.) and John Shadegg (Ariz.) may also go, according to information provided to The Hill.

A spokeswoman for Hoyer said the trip was “under consideration” but that plans had not been finalized. Other offices were not immediately available to comment.