Johanns joins move to ban earmarks

So far, he has the backing of at least 14 lawmakers.  

The earmark moratorium is supported by Sens. DeMint, Tom Coburn (R-Okla.), John Ensign (R-Nev.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.) and John Cornyn (R-Texas). Sens. Richard Burr (R-N.C.) and Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.) have also signed as co-sponsors, along with Sens.-elect Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) and Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.).

"The current earmark process contributes to the notion that members of Congress must focus on ‘bringing home the bacon’ instead of getting our country’s fiscal house in order," Johanns said. "I have supported previous proposals to ban earmarks and I will support this one.”

Meanwhile, Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) has said any campaign to eliminate earmarks is a distraction from larger spending cuts that need to be made. He's also argued that giving up earmarks would give the executive branch too much power to spend money on its priorities.