Blue Dog Coalition announces new leadership

The Blue Dog Coalition, decimated in the midterm elections, announced its new leadership team Tuesday night. 

Rep. Heath Shuler (D-N.C.) becomes co-chair for Administration, Rep. John Barrow (D-Ga.), is the new co-chair for Policy and Rep. Mike Ross (D-Ark.) becomes the new co-chair for Communications.

Nearly half of the fiscally conservative Blue Dogs lost their bids for reelection, two retired and two ran for higher office. Out of the 54 Blue Dogs about 23 lost, three retired and two ran for higher office leaving 26. 

They succeed Rep. Stephanie Herseth Sandlin (D-S.D.) and Rep. Baron Hill (D-Ind.), who lost their races and Rep. Jim Matheson (D-Utah), who won reelection but was shifted out of the leadership by the by-laws that require a change every session of Congress. 

“At a time when both parties are being pulled far from the mainstream, the Blue Dog Coalition will continue to be a moderating force in the 112th Congress,” Ross said in a statement. “Voters have resoundingly demanded a more moderate Congress and we must begin to work together to pass bipartisan, commonsense legislation that creates jobs, restores fiscal responsibility to our government and gets our economy back on track."