Blue Dogs round out new leadership roster

The Blue Dog Coalition completed its new leadership roster on Wednesday, appointing Rep. Dan Boren (D-Okla.) as the group's whip. 

Boren takes over for Rep. Heath Shuler (D-N.C.) who moved up to co-chair for Administration's spot. 

Rep. John Barrow (D-Ga.), is the new co-chair for Policy and Rep. Mike Ross (D-Ark.) becomes the new co-chair for Communications, rounding out the group's new leadership team, most of which was announced Tuesday night. 

Shuler, Barrow and Ross succeed, respectively, Rep. Stephanie Herseth Sandlin (D-S.D.) and Rep. Baron Hill (D-Ind.), who lost their races and Rep. Jim Matheson (D-Utah), who won reelection but was shifted out of the group's leadership by the by-laws that require a change every session of Congress. 

The Blue Dog's ranks took a heavy hit in midterm elections, as nearly half of the fiscally conservative members lost their bids for reelection. Out of the 54 Blue Dogs about 23 lost, three retired and two ran for higher office, leaving 26 remaining.