Fiscal conservative group warns GOP deficit commission members

Gregg is retiring and will vote in favor of the plan, while Coburn, who is not running for reelection, and Crapo signaled Wednesday that they may vote in favor to keep the deficit debate going.

The commission will not get 14 votes, in part because incumbent GOP congressmen and senators who have signed the pledge will not support the tax hike plan.

"Republicans who still are accountable to voters and who signed the Pledge should not support this plan. Doing so would mean that they weren’t serious when they signed the Pledge in the first place," said Ryan Ellis, tax policy director for Americans for Tax Reform in an interview.

On taxes, the commission recommends eliminating all tax breaks while at the same time lowering individual and corporate tax rates.