Five House Dems lose seats on Appropriations Committee

As a result of the loss of their majority, Democratic membership on the committee is shrinking from 37 members to 21.

Reps. Tim Ryan (D-Ohio), Dutch Ruppersberger (D-Md.), and Ben Chandler (D-Ky.) also lost their places on the committee. The Democratic Steering Committee made the decision on Friday based on seniority on the committee.

Eleven Democrats on the committee either retired or lost their reelection bids in November.

As previously announced, the committee ranking member will be Rep. Norm Dicks (D-Wash.)

Remaining on the committee are: Reps. Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio), Pete Visclosky (D-Ind.), Nita Lowey  (D-N.Y.), José Serrano (D-N.Y.), Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.), Jim MoranJim MoranHouse Dem: Congress needs 'courage' to call for its own pay raise House may resume work on spending bills next week Bottom Line MORE (D-Va.), John Olver (D-Mass.), Ed PastorEd PastorWhich phone do lawmakers like the most? CAMPAIGN OVERNIGHT: Political tomfoolery Pastor endorses in race to replace him MORE (D-Ariz.), David Price (D-N.C.), Maurice Hinchey (D-N.Y.), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-Calif.), Sam FarrSam FarrDEA decision against reclassifying marijuana ignores public opinion 19 House Democrats' sites hacked at close of gun sit-in Dems push for allowing base closures MORE (D-Calif.), Jesse Jackson Jr. (D-Ill.), Chaka Fattah (D-Pa.), Steven Rothman (D-N.J.), Sanford Bishop (D-Ga.), Barbara Lee (D-Calif.), Adam SchiffAdam SchiffGrassley wants expanded access to FBI’s Clinton files Top Dem downplays Trump's intel briefing FBI sends Clinton files to Congress MORE (D-Calif.), Michael Honda (D-Calif.), and Betty McCollum (D-Minn.).

Only 29 Republicans will serve on the panel, as part of a Republican pledge to shrink the size of the committee. The GOP also pushed through a 9 percent cut in the committee budget last week.