New York-area lawmakers urge Congress to support Sandy victims

“We are incredibly grateful for the swift, coordinated response by the President, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and state and local governments.  However, the recovery from this terrible tragedy will prove to be a lengthy and costly task,” the letter to House Speaker John BoehnerJohn BoehnerHouse markup of ObamaCare repeal bill up in the air Conservatives to Congress: Get moving Boehner: ObamaCare repeal and replace 'not going to happen' MORE (R-Ohio) and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) states.

“We understand FEMA may have the resources it needs at this time, but as the full brunt of Hurricane Sandy is quantified, Congress must stand ready to provide the aid and assistance to the people and communities most devastated by this storm,” it adds.

The FEMA disaster relief fund was given $7.1 billion at the beginning of October when the fiscal year began, and funding can increase by some $5 billion without offsets under the August 2011 debt-ceiling deal. House Republican appropriations aides say that it is too early to provide more funding, before a complete assessment of the damage is done. 

Senate Appropriations Committee cardinal Sen. Mary LandrieuMary LandrieuFive unanswered questions after Trump's upset victory Pavlich: O’Keefe a true journalist Trump’s implosion could cost GOP in Louisiana Senate race MORE (D-La.) is already urging a supplemental bill to fund transportation, crop and housing needs not covered by FEMA’s budget.

The letter was signed by 44 members: Reps. Joseph Crowley (D-N.Y.), Frank LoBiondo (R-N.J.), John Larson (D-Conn.), Joe Courtney (D-Conn.), Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.), Jim Himes (D-Conn.), Chris MurphyChris MurphyDem senator goes on tweet storm over leaked ObamaCare repeal plan A guide to the committees: Senate Senators eye new sanctions against Iran MORE (D-Conn.), Robert Andrews (D-N.J.), Jon Runyan (D-N.J.), Chris Smith (R-N.J.), Frank Pallone Jr. (D-N.J.), Leonard Lance (R-N.J.), Bill Pascrell Jr. (D-N.J.), Steven Rothman (D-N.J.), Rodney FrelinghuysenRodney FrelinghuysenA guide to the committees: House Republicans who oppose, support Trump refugee order House GOP picks two women to lead committees MORE (R-N.J.), Rush Holt (R-N.J.), Albio Sires (D-N.J.), Tim BishopTim BishopDems separated by 29 votes in NY House primary Flint residents hire first K Street firm House moves to vote on .1T package; backup plan in place MORE (D-N.J.), Steve Israel (D-N.Y.), Peter King (R-N.Y.), Carolyn McCarthyCarolyn McCarthyWhy Congress needs an openly atheist member, now Lobbying World Lobbying world MORE (D-N.Y.), Gary Ackerman  (D-N.Y.), Gregory Meeks  (D-N.Y.), Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.), Robert Turner (R-N.Y.), Edolphus Towns (D-N.Y.), Yvette Clarke (D-N.Y.), Nydia Velázquez (D-N.Y.), Michael Grimm (R-N.Y.), Carolyn Maloney (D-N.Y.), Charles Rangel (D-N.Y.), José Serrano (D-N.Y.), Eliot Engel (D-N.Y.), Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.), Nan Hayworth (R-N.Y.), Chris Gibson (R-N.Y.), Paul Tonko (D-N.Y.), Maurice Hinchey (D-N.Y.), Bill Owens (D-N.Y.), Richard Hanna (R-N.Y.), Kathy Hochul (D-N.Y.), Brian Higgins (D-N.Y.), Louise Slaughter (D-N.Y.) and Tom Reed (R-N.Y.).

This story was updated at 1:10 p.m.