Stabenow, Senate Ag chairwoman, wins reelection

The Senate passed a five-year farm bill in June, but the full House has yet to act on its own measure. The most recent five-year farm bill expired at the end of September, and Republicans and Democrats sparred through much of the summer over how to bring drought relief to farmers throughout the country. 

Stabenow has urged the House to act on a farm bill after it returns to Washington next week, and her victory Tuesday would seem to strengthen her hand in negotiations. Lobbyists have said that a modified farm bill could conceivably be tacked on to a year-end measure dealing with the "fiscal cliff."

The Michigan Democrat is also a member of the tax-writing Finance Committee. Several other Democrats on the panel – Sens. Bill NelsonClarence (Bill) William NelsonOvernight Health Care: Ryan's office warns he wasn't part of ObamaCare deal | House conservatives push for mandate repeal in final tax bill | Dem wants probe into CVS-Aetna merger Ryan's office warning he wasn't part of deal on ObamaCare: source Overnight Health Care: Funding bill could provide help for children's health program | Questions for CVS-Aetna deal | Collins doubles funding ask for ObamaCare bill MORE (Fla.), Robert MenendezRobert (Bob) MenendezSenate ethics panel resumes Menendez probe after judge declares mistrial Judge declares mistrial in Menendez bribery case Menendez jury deadlocked, ordered to keep trying MORE (N.J.), Tom CarperThomas (Tom) Richard CarperAvalanche of Democratic senators say Franken should resign Overnight Cybersecurity: Mueller probe cost .7M in early months | Senate confirms Homeland Security nominee | Consumer agency limits data collection | Arrest in Andromeda botnet investigation Senate panel moves forward with bill to roll back Dodd-Frank MORE (Del.) and Ben CardinBenjamin (Ben) Louis CardinDems demand Tillerson end State hiring freeze, consult with Congress Former New Mexico gov: Trump's foreign policy is getting 'criticized by everybody' Dems put hold on McFarland nomination over contradictory testimony: report MORE (Md.) – also were reelected on Tuesday.

The Hill's Ballot Box has more on Stabenow's defeat of former Rep. Pete Hoekstra.