Isakson, Portman, Toomey to join Finance panel

Scott and fellow freshman Sens. Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.) and Ted Cruz (R-Texas) will also join the Senate Special Committee on Aging, which reviews Medicare's performance.

In addition, Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.) will take part in that panel, as GOP Sens. Jerry Moran (Kan.), Ron Johnson (Wis.), Richard Shelby (Ala.), Lindsey Graham (S.C.) and Saxby Chambliss (Ga.) depart it.

Committee assignments are pending ratification by the GOP conference and the Senate as a whole, leaders noted.