Senate panel to vote next week on trade-related Russia bill, Iraq ambassador nominee

Without it, several lawmakers say, they cannot support establishing normal permanent trade relations with Russia, which would put U.S. companies at a disadvantage when Russia joins the World Trade Organization this summer. The Obama administration's top trade negotiator has called for a clean vote on the trade issue.

The Foreign Affairs panel is also slated to consider President Obama's controversial nominee to lead the world's largest embassy, in Baghdad. Brett McGurk, 39, has come under criticism for his inexperience — he has never served as ambassador — and more recently for an affair he conducted with a reporter, now his wife, who covered him while he was stationed in Iraq in 2008.

Other bills the committee will vote on include foreign aid for water and sanitation; enhanced military aid for Israel; and support for human-rights programs and non-government-controlled information in North Korea.

The panel will also consider Obama's nominees for ambassador to Mongolia, Nepal, the Federated States of Micronesia, The Gambia, Equatorial Guinea, Mozambique, Maldives and Tajikistan.

Here's the announcement:

TUESDAY, JUNE 19, 2012 -- 2:15 p.m. -- S-116

EVENT:  Business Meeting


Senator Kerry will Preside



1.       S. 641, the Senator Paul Simon Water for the World Act of 2011

2.       S. 1039, the Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act of 2011, with amendments

3.       S. 2165, the United States-Israel Enhanced Security Cooperation Act of 2012, with amendments

4.       H.R. 4240, the Ambassador James R. Lilley and Congressman Stephen J. Solarz North Korea Human Rights Reauthorization Act of 2012

5.       S. Res. 402, A resolution condemning Joseph Kony and the Lord’s Resistance Army for committing crimes against humanity and mass atrocities, and supporting ongoing efforts by the United States Government and governments in central Africa to remove Joseph Kony and Lord’s Resistance Army commanders from the battlefield, with amendments

6.       S. Res. 429, A resolution supporting the goals and ideals of World Malaria Day

7.       S. Res. 473, A resolution commending Rotary International and others for their efforts to prevent and eradicate polio

8.       S. Res. 385, A resolution condemning the Government of Iran for its continued persecution, imprisonment, and sentencing of Youcef Nadarkhani on the charge of apostasy


9.       Ms. Piper Anne Wind Campbell, of the District of Columbia, to be Ambassador to Mongolia

10.    The Honorable Peter William Bodde, of Maryland, to be Ambassador to the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal

11.    Ms. Dorothea-Maria Rosen, of California, to be Ambassador to the Federated States of Micronesia

12.    Mr. Edward M. Alford, of Virginia, to be Ambassador to the Republic of The Gambia

13.    Mr. Mark L. Asquino, of the District of Columbia, to be Ambassador to the Republic of Equatorial Guinea

14.    Mr. Douglas M. Griffiths, of Texas, to be Ambassador to the Republic of Mozambique

15.    The Honorable Michele Jeanne Sison, of Maryland, to be Ambassador to the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka and to serve concurrently as Ambassador to the Republic of Maldives

16.    Mr. Brett H. McGurk, of Connecticut, to be Ambassador to the Republic of Iraq

17.    Ms. Susan Marsh Elliott, of Florida, to be Ambassador to the Republic of Tajikistan

Additional items may be added …