Sens. Rubio, Blunt join Senate Communications subpanel

The Senate Commerce Committee announced Friday that several freshman GOP senators will be joining the subcommittee on Communications, Technology and the Internet, including Sens. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) and Pat Toomey (R-Pa.)

The influential subcommittee chaired by Sen. John Kerry (D-Mass.) has jurisdiction over the Federal Communications Commission and often sets the upper chamber's agenda with regards to tech and telecom policy. Sen. John Ensign (R-Nev.) serves as ranking member.

Joining Rubio and Toomey on the panel for the first time will be Sens. Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.) and John Boozman (R-Ark.). Boozman was also named ranking member on the Space and Science subcommittee, replacing Sen. David Vitter (R-La.).