Senate Republicans shake up roster on Commerce panel

Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas), the most recent ranking member of the committee, and Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-Maine) both retired from the Senate at the end of the 112th Congress. Sen. Jim DeMint (R-S.C.), who was poised to succeed Hutchison as the committee's ranking member, resigned from the Senate last month to head up the conservative Heritage Foundation.

Sens. Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), John Boozman (R-Ark.) and Pat Toomey (R-Pa.) will not return to the Commerce Committee.

In addition, Cruz will join his freshman colleague Sen. Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.) on the Senate Judiciary Committee after Sen. Jon Kyl (R-Ariz.) retired at the end of the session. Sen. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.) will not be returning to the panel.

Senate Republicans said the committee assignments are pending ratification by the GOP conference and the full Senate.

More in Technology

Senate panel approves Obama's patent nominee

Read more »