Rep. Costello to seek chairmanship of Science and Technology Committee

Rep. Jerry Costello (Ill.), the second-ranking Democrat on the panel, said after the announcement that he would seek the chairmanship. Third-ranking Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-Texas) said she would support Costello and fourth-ranking Rep. Lynn Woolsey (D-Calif.) won’t seek the post.

Republicans have targeted more than a dozen Democrats for retirement. Those on the watch list include three other committee chairmen -- Reps. Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), John Spratt (D-S.C.) and Ike Skelton (D-Mo.) -- as well as Reps. Marion Berry (D-Ark.), Alan Mollohan (D-W.Va.) and Rick Boucher (D-Va.).

Boucher, of course, is the chairman of the House Subcommittee on Communications, Technology and the Internet.