NTSB chief sworn-in for third term

Hersman was first appointed to the NTSB by former President George W. Bush. She reappointed to the panel by President Obama in 2001, and the current president made her chairwoman of the safety panel.

Obama renominated Hersman to another five-year term on the NTSB earlier this year.