Virginia won't recognize concealed carry permits from 25 states

Getty Images

Virginia Attorney General Mark Herring (D) on Tuesday announced the commonwealth will no longer recognize concealed carry permits issued in dozens of other states.

After a review, the state determined that dangerous people could legally obtain guns in 25 states with weaker gun laws and bring them into Virginia. Herring said Virginia State Police are now informing those states that Virginia will no longer honor their permits.

"I have recommended the state police terminate the reciprocity agreements with 25 states whose laws are not adequate to prevent issuance of a concealed handgun permit to individuals that Virginia would disqualify,” Herring said in a statement.

Virginia will no longer recognize concealed carry permits issued by Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Washington, Wisconsin or Wyoming, Herring noted.

Virginia will continue to recognize concealed carry permits issued by a handful of states — including Michigan, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, and West Virginia — that it reasons have equally strong gun laws.

The changes will take effect on Feb 1.

Concealed carry permits issued by Virginia will still be recognized.