Boehner wins reelection as House speaker

Boehner won a bare majority in a vote that saw nine Republicans vote for other GOP members, and several others who abstained from voting or voted "present." Two years ago, Boehner won all available 241 GOP votes.

In a vote that opened the 113th Congress, Boehner received 220 votes compared to 192 for Rep. Nancy Pelosi (Calif.), the minority leader. Fourteen members voted for other candidates or present.

Defectors from Boehner included Justin Amash (R-Mich.), who voted for Rep. Raul Labrador (R-Idaho). Freshman Reps. Jim Bridenstein (R-Okla.) and Ted Yoho (R-Fla.) and Rep. Steve Pearce (R-N.M.) all voted for Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-Va.), but Cantor himself voted for Boehner.

Read more on The Hill's Floor Action Blog.