Senators approved Dava Newman to be NASA’s next deputy administrator on Monday. 
Senators voted 87-0 on the nomination. Thirteen senators missed the vote, which remained open for roughly an hour. 
{mosads}Newman, a professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was nominated in October of last year for the post. She was favorably reported by the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation last month. 
Sen. Steve Daines (R-Mont.) said ahead of the vote that Newman “is a testament to the quality of Montana’s public education.” 
“[She] truly exemplifies our state’s legacy of public service,” he said. “I know she will lead with honor and is prepared for whatever challenges lie ahead.” 
Sens. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.) and David Vitter (R-La.) didn’t vote. 
Tags Amy Klobuchar Chris Murphy Chuck Schumer David Vitter Jeff Flake Lamar Alexander Lindsey Graham Lisa Murkowski Marco Rubio Ted Cruz Tom Cotton Tom Udall

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video