Not a single House Democrat voted with the majority Thursday on a bill to ban all federal funding for National Public Radio, but seven House Republicans did opt to vote against the measure.  

The bill passed 228-192 and now heads to the Senate, where the Democratic majority is unlikely to take it up. 

The seven Republicans who voted against the bill include four GOP freshmen: Reps. Sean Duffy (Wisc.), Richard Hanna (N.Y.), Chris Gibson (N.Y.) and Rob Woodall (Ga.). Of the four, only Duffy and Hanna endured close races in 2010.  

Republican Reps. Steve LaTourette (Ohio), Pat Tiberi (Ohio) and Dave Reichert (Wash.) also voted against defunding public broadcasting. Freshman Rep. Justin Amash (R-Mich.) voted present.   

The vote followed a contentious debate on the House floor that saw many Democrats lambasting the tactics of the GOP majority in the House and accusing them of misplaced priorities.

Freshman Rep. Rich Nugent (R-Fla.) said Thursday Republicans were simply trying to "liberate [NPR] from federal tax dollars."