The GOP establishment-tied American Action Network is up with more than $500,000 worth of advertising thanking Republicans who voted to fund the Department of Homeland Security, an early move to ward off potential primary challengers.


The ads defend the minority of House Republicans who sided with Speaker John BoehnerJohn Andrew BoehnerK Street giants scoop up coveted ex-lawmakers Trump adviser expected to leave White House, join Juul The Hill's 12:30 Report: McGahn inflames Dem divisions on impeachment MORE (R-Ohio) and voted to fund the DHS through September without including riders targeting President Obama's executive actions on immigration.

The organization, which has ties to House Republican leadership, is running $350,000 in TV ads for Reps. Renee Ellmers (R-N.C.), Susan BrooksSusan Wiant BrooksHillicon Valley: Lawmakers seek 'time out' on facial recognition tech | DHS asks cybersecurity staff to volunteer for border help | Judge rules Qualcomm broke antitrust law | Bill calls for 5G national security strategy Bipartisan House bill calls for strategy to protect 5G networks from foreign threats Here are the eight Republicans who voted with Democrats on the Equality Act MORE (R-Ind.), Dan BenishekDaniel (Dan) Joseph BenishekRepublican groups launch final ad blitz in key House battlegrounds Tea Party class reassesses record Michigan Republican to retire MORE (R-Mich.) and Todd YoungTodd Christopher YoungBipartisan senators unveil measure to end surprise medical bills Pence, McConnell eulogize Sen. Richard Lugar On The Money: GOP angst grows over Trump's trade war | Trump promises help for 'Patriot Farmers' | Markets rebound | CBO founding director Alice Rivlin dies | Senate to vote on disaster aid bill next week MORE (R-Ind.).

Ellmers has had the strongest rumor of a primary challenge, while Young and Brooks are both thought to be strong candidates for statewide office in Indiana at some point in the future who have establishment ties.

"Our security. Are you worried about it?" says the ad running in Ellmers's district. The spot goes on to praise Ellmers as a "conservative champion" who is "fighting for a stronger, safer America."

The group is also running digital ads for 16 other House Republicans: Reps. Vern Buchanan (Fla.), John Carter (Texas), Tom Cole (Okla.), Chris Collins (N.Y.), Jeff Denham (Calif.), Tom Emmer (Minn.), Kay GrangerNorvell (Kay) Kay GrangerDemocrats advance more spending bills, defying Trump budget requests Chances for disaster aid deal slip amid immigration fight Overnight Defense: Trump officials say efforts to deter Iran are working | Trump taps new Air Force secretary | House panel passes defense bill that limits border wall funds MORE (Texas), John Kline (Minn.), Michael McCaul (Texas), Candice Miller (Mich.), Kristi Noem (S.D.), Devin Nunes (Calif.), Robert Pittenger (N.C.), Joe Pitts (Pa.), John Shimkus (Ill.) and Glenn Thompson (Pa.).