Clinton wins New Hampshire

Democratic presidential nominee Hillary ClintonHillary Diane Rodham ClintonBlumenthal calls for declassification of materials detailing Russian threat to US elections Hillary Clinton roasts NYT's Maureen Dowd over column Hillary Clinton touts student suspended over crowded hallway photo: 'John Lewis would be proud' MORE has won New Hampshire and its four Electoral College votes, nearly a week after Donald TrumpDonald John TrumpDeWine tests negative for coronavirus a second time Several GOP lawmakers express concern over Trump executive orders Beirut aftermath poses test for US aid to frustrating ally MORE was declared the winner of the presidential election.

Clinton defeated Trump by roughly 2,700 votes in New Hampshire, The Associated Press announced Monday.


The additional Electoral College votes will not make a difference for Clinton's now-defunct campaign — she is still nearly 40 votes short of the needed 270.

The AP found that Clinton’s margin of success was less than 1 percent of the 732,000 ballots cast in New Hampshire, what was expected to be a crucial battleground state.

Trump's team declined to request a recount.

Trump’s edge in the Electoral College votes now stands at 290 to Clinton’s 232.

Clinton campaigned in New Hampshire two days before the election, and President Obama also visited the state on her behalf in the final day of the campaign.

Trump journeyed to New Hampshire twice in the 2016 race’s five final days.

The results in Michigan still remain undecided, but the Great Lake State’s 16 electoral votes would not change the White House race’s outcome.

Trump stunned the world last week when he soundly defeated Clinton, despite trailing her in national polling averages that morning and running an unconventional campaign against a political veteran. 

Clinton formally conceded the 2016 race the following day, and Trump has since met with President Obama and leaders in Congress in Washington and begun the transition effort.

Clinton is still leading the real estate tycoon by a narrow margin in the popular vote.